top of page

Ciao for now, Nico

One of my favorite students moved back to DC this week. It's always hard to see them go when you're making so much growth. Nico was the first student with autism that I worked really closely with...he was also the first "intensive need" student that we had here at AC. We opened the coffee shop together, he pushed us to open more classes and after-school activities that could be adapted, and he went to camp with me for a whole week - including his first night away! He taught me so much, and I often told my boss, "Working with Nico is the best PD I get." Nico taught me a lot about patience, choosing your battles, and also how to slow things down and see them from different perspectives. He also taught me there are so many ways to do just one thing. I will miss his creative mind and warm spirit.

Luckily, Nico has an amazing family that supports and helps him reach his highest potential. I think it would be so amazing to see Nico again some day - I'm making it a personal goal to see him in the States over the next 3 years.

bottom of page