top of page

Random act of fundraising


This week ISKL had an incredibly engaging guest - Dreadlock Alien. I was able to see him at a school-wide assembly in which he flawlessly engaged our students with slam poetry and actually got some of them to come on stage (in front of an entire high school) and perform. In addition to the assembly, he worked in Language Arts classrooms doing workshops around writing your own poetry and releasing fears around public speaking. One teacher took it a step further and asked him to have their class write a collaborative poem about a fundraiser I was doing. (At the end of the week I'm running the Angkor Wat Half Marathon to raise money for The Cambodia Education Fund). Therefore, the students wrote a jam about the challenges I will face in the name of service. But one of my students took it even further. He decided to grab a bag and start a collection in attempts to raise some funds for the cause. In about five different currencies, this student collected about $150. When he walked into my room at the end of the school day, I thought he would just hand me the bag and run to his bus, but instead he asked if we could count it together. I knew that he wasn't just doing this to distract him from the day, but because he wanted to make a difference. We're doing our best at ISKL to grow ethical world citizens, and today felt like a win.

bottom of page