top of page

When all hope is lost...the last school day before winter break


Students bounce into the room complete hyped up on too many cookies, chocolate, and candy canes. How is a teacher to keep their cool and not just put on Elf to keep the room from erupting? I think the last day before large breaks has always been a challenge for students and teachers. The excitement is overflowing for all of us and it seems impossible to make any attempt at meaningful learning. I would never judge a classroom teacher for making cards for parents, singing songs, or putting on a movie on these days, because I was just as excited for my winter break adventure, and I too was struggling to stay in my seat. My co-teacher for Integrated Science, Mr. Sweet, truly impressed me this year. With complete intention, he planned a heart dissection for the last day before break. The students came in to the classroom eager to learn and experiment (and yes with some giggly energy). The hallways at school were buzzing with the talk of this academic task, rather than who was going where for winter break. They knew this was coming and they had heard from other classes that it was "smelly" and "gross", but what more does a 10th grader want? He even took it another step and surprised students with a lung that hooked up to a tube that they could inflate themselves...the grotesque is often the most entertaining for this age of students. But, I also know that the amount of preparation and clean up that goes into this day was not small and that my co-teacher had put a lot of energy into this day. The result was entirely worth it. Mr. Sweet taught me that these days of chaos, excitement, and anticipation are the days in which we as teachers are taxed with creating the most engaging lessons and not falling victim to the movie day. Our students didn't ask to watch a movie, or "do nothing." Our students eagerly learned, asked questions, and without question went home with some stories for their families. What more could you ask for in a lesson?

bottom of page